Help a beginner please!

NicolaJane

Hi,
I am fairly new to sourdough and need a little help with some basics. Some questions I have are:
1. What is the idea proving temperature and what is the idea dough temperature during this time?
2. My starter never doubles in size after feeding when left at room temperature, yet all the info says it should and that the time of maximum volume is when to bake with it. Is this true? What is a good starter volume to use and what is a good program?
3. What is the ideal protein content of the bread flour? Some say 12-15%. Should I be adding some gluten flour to the mix?
4. What affects oven spring?
5. Sometimes my loaves look great except for an increased denceness at the bottom. What can cause this?
Any comments would be appreciated. So far, the bread is getting better each time (with the odd learing experience in between). A very addictive pursuit!
Cheers, NicolaJane.

Category: 
up
331 users have voted.

Replies

NicolaJane 2006 September 11

Bill,
A dumb question. And believe me, there will be more.
What do you mean by the flour multiplication factor?
And another, I currently have an all white starter. Is there a problem with changing this over to a rye starter? The recipe I have been using all along (keeping to more or less the same one until I can get the basics right) calls for 20% rye flour. If I use a rye based starter, should I just use white flour in the mix? Also, is there a good reference somewhere explaining the chemistry of what is happening in the bread?
It seems like the more I try to learn, the more I realise that this is a lifelong thing, that I will always be learning.
Thanks for all your patience.
Cheers, Nicky.

Bill44's picture
Bill44 2006 September 12

Hi Nicky, sorry to be so long in getting back to you but I've been fairly busy for a while.
"What do you mean by the flour multiplication factor?" I'm not sure what you are refering to here, could you expand a bit.