New here, and first time posting.

PaddyL
Hi, I'm in Montreal Canada, and just joined your site a couple of days ago.  I'm new to sourdough, but have a beautiful starter sitting in my fridge.  It's made with buttermilk and some commercial yeast, so it probably isn't as "pure" as the ones I've seen mentioned here. Though it does smell lovely and sour, it produces a soft white bread, and I've already made cinnamon buns with it.  Over the weekend, I'm going to try using it for some whole wheat bread.  I'm curious about your interest in spelt.  Is it the taste?  I was given a bag once a couple of years ago, but threw it out after reading that it is very difficult to work with, and I didn't really know anything about it at all.  I have tried other starters, with and without commercial yeast, but my current one is so healthy and lively, I'm sure I could use it for other breads, and I've yet to try it solo, without added yeast in the final dough.

This is a fascinating site, and I do enjoy reading all your posts.  Thanks.
Category: 
up
259 users have voted, including you.

Replies

TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2008 April 11
You've come to the best place in the world to talk about sourdough bread.  Your starter sounds great, and whilst (as you probably know) it technically isn't sourdough as such, I'm sure it produces some great results for you.  I'm interested that you've tried using a starter without commercial yeast but didn't like it ?  Did it not work well ? I haven't met a starter which didn't thrive with some TLC. The breads you'll get from a true sourdough starter are quite different to ones based on commercial yeast, and if you add yeast to your bread, it's quite a different result again.  Most of us here have started our own starters (not me, though...mine's from JackLang and DanLepard), or bought them from people like Teresa