How do I get enough starter to start?

Missalex
Hi guys, I have a very beginner question: bread recipes call for up to 2 cups of starter per dough, and I can't get my head around where this volume comes from! I have a thriving 3 week old rye starter, and I have begun saving the amount that I discard when feeding daily. Do I save this up until I have enough for the recipe? Do I separate it and feed it up to achieve the volume? I have read that the amount to be discarded daily can be used to make pizza crusts or pancakes, but it's only about 1/3 of a cup, so it still takes me a while to amass the correct amount! This is the crucial step stopping me from taking the leap into sourdough bread baking, so I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance, Alex
Category: 
up
338 users have voted, including you.

Replies

nickbeddows 2012 December 10

Hi Missalex.

Firstly, well done on getting a thriving rye starter, they're not always easy to get going. Secondly, I'm only a keen amateur, so any advice comes purely from my experiences making sourdough bread and pizzas for the last three years. Having said that, I'm confident enough to run a course teaching sourdough pizza making and baking using a clay oven near Brighton next summer, so something must have gone right!