complete beginner home baker help

Clarabba

I am retired, living in the UK and love baking but completely new to sourdough baking. What is the best type of sourdough loaf to start with? something very simple please. once I've had a success I will feel more confidence.

Category: 
up
338 users have voted, including you.

Replies

Clarabba 2011 September 13

Thanks so much for your suggestion. I followed the link you gave and made a sourdough loaf. It too was a success - far from perfect, but it smelt good, looked good OK and tasted not too bad. I'll definitely try it again.

panfresca 2011 September 10

It's pretty hard to completely wreck a loaf, and I've certainly tried hard enough!... You'll almost certainly produce results on your first bake which will please you. And from there you will learn more and refine your technique.

One of the simplest, most reliable techniques, and one which is a staple for many experienced bakers too, is the basic 1:2:3 method. (By weight) 1 of 100% hydration (ie 50:50 flour/water) starter, 2 of water, 3 of flour. Plus 1.8 to 2% salt.

You can just browse the many recipes on this site and choose one which you like the look of. One which I love and regularly bake is Shiao-Ping's Home Bread, which uses the 1:2:3 method and you can see here:

sourdough.com/recipes/home-bread

As flour particularly can vary hugely in weight, it's usually more reliable to weigh it rather than rely on volumetric measures (such as cups).

Good luck!

BruceHall 2011 September 22

Is the 1-2-3 method true for any grade of flour? What I mean is, will I need more starter to raise wholemeal flour than I would need to raise white flour? In "regular" breadmaking, I would normally add more yeast to drive a wholemeal loaf than I would for a white loaf, so is the same not true for a sourdough wholemeal loaf?

Bruce

panfresca 2011 September 22