Starter Questions

Barry

Once you've got the starter to the cappacino effect is it time to feed with more flour and water?
How to I attach pictures?

Category: 
up
255 users have voted.

Replies

Barry 2007 March 25

Thanks for your replys much appreciated. Posting pictures is not that easy as I first need to open a gallery I think and then post using meta tags from there. I'll keep trying as I'm a photographer and love pictures to explain.
I've recently baked quite a nice tasting sour dough using the rye starter I created 2 weeks ago it did sit in the fridge for one of those weeks.

TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2007 March 17

Second question first. A:[url=http://www.sourdough.com.au/learn/tutorial/image/]Check out Maedi's tute.[/url]

First question.
A: Why? Why do you want to feed the active starter? From your other post, I see you've already made bread with a starter. A good and lively one is best. And, that can be achieved with enough refreshments. Need more info, please.

Barry 2007 March 17

On my first attempt the starter was bubbeling after 24 hours and the resulting bread was only a little sour. After reading a bit most starters seem to ferment for 5 or more days which would give them more of a sour taste is that right?
My current starter has only been going for 2 days and active should I keep it active by adding more flour and water?

TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2007 March 17

Oh...definitely yes. If yours is a starter from scratch, you should let it mature for more than a week, if not 2.

wadada's picture
wadada 2007 March 18

It's not very clear what you mean, could you explain your method? Are you trying to make a starter from scratch?
It sounds like you are mixing mixing flour and water, letting it sit for a long time and expecting to have a wild yeast starter.