How do I get a nice floured surface on my homemade bread?

crusty

I know this is a dumb question but I am just learning. How do you get that nice white or brownish white flour-covered crust that i see on top of some of the sourdough breads?

After I shape my dough, I flour the outside and then let it proof. Then I slash and place in the oven. I mist the top of the bread. But I don't get that flour look on the top after baking. What am i doing wrong?

Jeremy Shapiro has some nice pictures of floured tops in his gallery. Can someone help!

chuck

Category: 
up
191 users have voted.

Replies

baxter SA 2007 March 26

Jeremy, Couldn't of said it better myself, I QUOTE: Machine are my ten fingers!

"IF YOU FEED IT, IT WILL RISE"

Pab's picture
Pab 2007 March 6

I think you need to prove your bread seem-side down. I mean upside down on a well floured towel, bannetton etc. Some sprinkle flour on the top of the loaf just before baking.

If anything, I find too much flour left on the surface of my bread and tend to rub it off a bit after cooling.

Pete

Jeremy's picture
Jeremy 2007 March 6

Don't mist the bread directly if it is floured, mist around the sides of the oven or you will get splotchy mud on your loaves! Also proof as Peter described seam side down or up, if up you won't need to slash the loaves there will be a rustic bursting effect that is pretty neat too!

Cheers!
Jeremy

Pab's picture
Pab 2007 March 7

I think I meant to write '[i]seam side up[/i]' but meant, as I went on to say, upside down.

Apologies for the confusion.

Pete

Jeremy's picture
Jeremy 2007 March 7

Peter you were right seam side up, but i can also be down for the volcanic look!

cheers

Papakon 2007 March 7