First rye.

SourYumMum's picture
SourYumMum

OK, I'm back to work, sort of.

This is my first attempt at playing with rye flour (from Bibina, thanks Bill!).

[img]http://sourdough.com.au/gallery/d/5016-2/100_1963+_942+x+707_.jpg[/img]

That's not so bad I guess, but look at THIS:

[img]http://sourdough.com.au/gallery/d/5019-2/100_1961+_942+x+707_.jpg[/img]

It must be genetically part-mushroom! Why might the base have lifted and cracked like that?

Can't wait to taste it!! It smells good.

Your words of wisdom will be greatly appreciated - adapted from Dom's recipe:

230gm starter (half rye/half Laucke Wallaby)
300gm water
200gm rye
200gm Laucke Wallaby
100gm wholemeal
10gm salt

Cheers,

Carol.

Category: 
up
284 users have voted.

Replies

carla's picture
carla 2006 November 15

Are you going to bake them for us?

I will do one for you and when you have baked it I do the next.

Ok??

carla's picture
carla 2006 November 15

[url=http://www.backrezepte-online.de/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=65][b]wopa's Roggenbrot mit Sauerteig [/b][/url]

3kg flour:

100 % rye
68 % water - 30°C
1,5 % fresh yeast (probably not necessary with your fierce levain)
2 % salt

Sourdough :

50g starter,
1050g rye flour,
840ccm water.

Dough:

1950g rye flour,
1890g rye sourdough (above),
1200g water (approx. depending on flour quality) - 30°C
45g fresh yeast (if used),
60g salt.
------
5145g dough

bulk ferment at 35°C approx. 60 Min.
form bread and let rise at 36°C for approx. 45-65 Min.
bake with steam (if you can) for 60-65 Min.
Temperature should fall to 200°C

Off you go Jeremy!

coelecanth 2006 October 25

I don't know that I am the person to be saying this, being new to this myself, but I thought that first of all the loaf looks pretty fantastic, and you might reduce the cracks at the bottom by slashing deeper.

Andrew

SourDom 2006 October 25

Well done Carol,

your loaf looks good enough to eat!
seriously - it looks very good