Help wanted please

~tullymoor~

[color=indigo]I am a total novice.
I have a starter that I made by mixing 1 cup wheat flour with 1 cup water, into jar, cover, keep in warm place. 24 hours later mix 1 cup flour, 1 cup water add starter to this, wash jar, return mix to jar, cover, put in a warm place.
I did this for three days and the starter bubbled and smelt great and seemed active to my novice eye so I put it in the fridge.
NOW WHAT??
Can somebody lead me and hold my hand through the bread making process please???

I tried to make a loaf today following the instructions from here...
[url]http://www.littletree.com.au/bread.htm[/url]
but didn't read about the rising time properly and after 4 hours (no rising had ocurred) I attempted to bake it.
I'm sure you can guess the result and I'm sure my chooks will enjoy it

Anyhew, I have my starter and I'm keen and ready to go. I work tomorrow, Friday, and will be away from home 11 am til 6 pm ish. I'm free all weekend so I hope we can do it in real-time using the forum to communicate. So, who's timetable does that suit and who's up for it?? [/color]:D

Category: 
up
268 users have voted.

Replies

Jeremy's picture
Jeremy 2006 January 27

Try getting on to danlepard.com or pick up dans book The hand made loaf, this will help your bread baking!

Jeremy

SourDom 2006 January 27

Tullymoor

Jeremy is right - one of the best things that you could do for your baking would be to go out and get a copy of 'The Handmade Loaf'.
There is a huge amount of helpful information on Dan's forum. Have a look at [url]http://www.danlepard.com/forum[/url].