Bread from Alice - question about rye crumb

SourDom

This was a question that Isabelle asked in response to one of my experiments. I thought that others here (Nina, Mick) might have more knowledge than I of the answer to her problem

[quote]
Dear Dom,

Thanks for your experiments, however I am very new to sourdough bread making and am using a starter given to me with a no - knead recipe. This starter and recipe was handed to me by a FREE BREAD INITIATIVE - ?Love Heart Bakery ?- a truly generous and anonymous bread maker in Alice Springs, NT, Australia.
I am making 2 rye loaves a week and have been having lots of luck until I got a new oven recently. The old one had no temperature gauge! and the loaves were tasty with a ciabatta like texture and even if a little undersized they were always gobbled up! Now the loaves seem to be rising too fast, I think, having almost as much airspace beneath the lovely crust as bread below! I put a stone in the bottom of the oven and sprinkle it with water after 20 minutes of baking. I am determined to succeed in the no-knead way. Can you give me some tips please???

Bread recipe?
The night before?
200ml starter
500ml flour
700ml water
mix together and cover away from drafts. Feed stater at this time with 200ml rye flour and enough water to make a thick batter.

The next morning?
Great spongy, gloopy stretchy consistency.
Add another 500ml rye flour
2 teaspoons salt
(herbs/seeds, if you want)

Stir around: should be very wet dough (you couldn?t knead it)?elasticy, stretchy. Add more water if needeed and lump into (2 or 3) well oiled and floured baking tins ; cover and let stand.
Needs to double in size? depending on temp. can take 1.5 - 8hrs.

Bake?
Pre-heat oven to 230 celcius
Gently place tins in oven and DO NOT DISTURB for at least 15 mins.
Rotate at 20 mins if you have to.
At 30 mins, pop out of the oven and put them straight on the racks to finish off another 10mins.