Do you use a banneton ?

celia's picture
celia

Do you use a banneton ?

Just noticed Graham has these on sale at the moment, and I'm wondering if I need one.  I've never used them before - I shape everything in a floured tea towel, and have generally been pretty happy with the results.  My big concern with bannetons is this - once you've dredged them with flour, how do you clean them afterwards ?  I know you can't wash the cane - or can you ?  And secondly, if I use a really wet dough, won't it just get stuck ?  I'm worried about growing mould in the banneton, and it going all green - I'd never use it again then. :)

Just in the last few days, I've pulled my black steel loaf pan out - forgotten how nice that was to use.  And rising in the pan doesn't result in flour all over the bench to clean up, though the end result isn't nearly as rustic looking.

TP, didn't you get some paper bannetons a while ago ?  How did they go ?

Cheers, Celia
Category: 
up
283 users have voted.

Replies

Jeremy's picture
Jeremy 2008 April 12
I use bannetons and also use a linen canvas from my painting days, actually it's silk linen!

Jeremy
celia's picture
celia 2008 April 12

Jeremy, do you line the bannetons ?  Or just dredge them in flour ?  Not 100% sure how they're supposed to work..
TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2008 April 12

with your floured towels.

I love my bannetons, both cane and pulp. There's really no sticking problem if you flour it WELL....I use rice flour, but, some people use rye. Apparently, just plain flour may not work so well, especially with a high hydration bread. This bread was proved in my pulp banneton. My only complaint is the patterns are not deep enough. I don't wash them each time after use...more like after 3 uses. After each use, I stick it under the sun for an hour, some people pop it in a low temp oven. I clean both pulp and cane under a running tap with a soft brush.

TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2008 April 12