Starters in a hot and humid climate

Aggie3

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie in the field of sourdough (making not eating) and I'm wondering what to look out for in a humid and hot climate, Darwin, Australia. Getting Don's starter set up today I'm all excited and look forward to my first load of bread but also thinking if I should follow exactly the recipes or should take into account the humidity? What are your experiences baking real bread in a hot humid climate? Thanks

up
324 users have voted.

Replies

Aggie3 2012 February 25

I'm trying out various options and it appears feeding the starter in a 12hour cycle works better than the 24 hours. The starter is doubling in size and bubbles are forming but after one week it doesn't look ready yet for baking. It also doesn't double in size it's more like 1/3 before it collapses again.

Im not sure if I'm doing anything wrong as I'm following Dom's recipe.

If anyone does have experience with sourdough in this climate (32 degrees and about 75-80% humidity) I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks

Josho 2012 February 25

Hi Aggie, I don't always get it right, but keep the starter above the back of the fridge if it's warm.  They love constant warmth.  After seven days of adding more flour and water it sould be bubbly.  There's a good recipe on this website you could use exact ammounts.  It shouldn't take more than a week.  

yours Josho 

farinam's picture
farinam 2012 February 25

Hello Aggie3,

Haven't worked in the tropics but the higher temperatures will most likely mean that your time-lines will be shorter than those that people living in cooler climes will talk about.