My starter is not sour :(

Jane Williams's picture
Jane Williams

It's me!  I'm back with questions again.

I have been babying my starter (Buddy) for weeks now.  I followed SourDom's directions and finally got a starter that bubbled, thanks to all the advice here.  I have been feeding it once a day but for the last few days, I have fed twice a day.  It is 100% hydration.  I made Norwich sourdough and followed the directions to the letter.  Since I have little experience in automatically calculating the hours and time it takes to complete the process of making sourdough bread, I was up until 3 AM just waiting for it to rise long enough so I could stick it in the fridge until this morning to bake.

I baked and they are lovely.  But not sour and not holey.  So once again, I am needing your advice.

Thanks again,

Janey

Category: 
up
292 users have voted.

Replies

eyendall 2011 May 26

Janey

I don't know if I can solve your sourness problem, but the appoach I detail below produces good bread  with holes and nice crust. There are many factors which go into producing a good sourdough loaf in addition to the starter. I think the secret lies in having the correct hydration, stretching and folding the dough rather than  kneading it  and so loosing most of the carbon dioxide needed to get a good rise and to produce the holes, and in baking at a high temperature.